Dawn to Dusk


Hello world!

Posted in Uncategorized by acuthbert on August 20, 2006

Welcome to my blog! Why ‘Dawn to Dusk’? I guess a blog called ‘acuthbert’ didn’t sound like it would have much to say about anything! I suppose neither does Dawn to Dusk but hey, at least it sounds poetic.

I’m a man of projects. Like all men my projects often get started and never finished. I believe the person who coined the phrase ‘fad’ was a disgruntled wife tired of counting the cost of endless cycle of new projects. Now I wouldn’t call all my projects ‘fads’ however even so a fad can be a good thing. Keeping to the same-old-same-old is not a way to expand the mind and with mounting evidence that you either use it or loose it (mentally speaking) I’m keen to broaden any horizon I can find.

I heard recently that you can tell all about a person from how the organise and manage their email inbox. Well I think you can learn a lot about a man by analysing his fads. Here’s some of mine, past and present:

  • Programming (not really a fad – it’s my main hobby and livelyhood and will no doubt keep me entertained until the wee small hours)
  • Electronics. I used to love building circuits on the old breadboard, especially if it involved ICs (microchips to the uninitiated). I once built a remote control light turning off thing, but alas when they started appearing on the shelves (in packages about a hundredth the size of mine!) I consigned the project to the attic. My electronics hobby went with it.
  • Growing Veggies. I love my veggie patch. Sadly so do anonymous creatures that eat them during the night.
  • Composting. A new one this – and hopefully one I’ll keep up. Totally fasinated watching green stuff turn to em, brown stuff.
  • Ethically living. Okay, okay – I’m not exactly the model green warrior but I’m keen to improve and champion the cause.

So, that’s some of the ideas that churn about in me old noggin. I should also mention that I’m a deep thinker on all subjects philosophical, but more about that later!

One Response to 'Hello world!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Hello world!'.


  1. Good web site you have here.. It’s hard to find high quality writing like yours these days.
    I seriously appreciate individuals like you! Take care!!


Leave a Reply

